CQC boss among New Year’s Honours List

David Behan, chief executive of the CQC, has received a knighthood in the New Year’s Honours List.

Rachel Griffiths, the CQC’s Mental Capacity Act Lead, was also among those honoured, being given an MBE for services to vulnerable people.

Commenting on his recognition, David said: “I am proud and humbled to receive this honour. I began my career with a belief in the inherent dignity and equality of every person. This led to a lifelong commitment to social justice which is as strong today as it was 40 years ago. The best social care and health has the power to transform people’s lives. I feel both lucky and privileged to have been able to serve the public in some wonderful roles over the years.

Story continues below

“All of us who work in health and social care are dependent on help and support from colleagues and team mates. I have worked with some outstanding people over the years and have been helped more than I can describe. Together we have worked to make a difference.”

Chair of the CQC Peter Wyman said the honour recognised “both a lifetime of achievement in public service” and David’s “great leadership of the CQC”.

Rachel, who has been at the CQC since 2013, focuses on ensuring the Mental Capacity Act (MCA) remains a key part of its strategy and policies, including inspections.

She represents the CQC in its work with external bodies to help drive improvement in health and social care and is part of the Leadership Group of the National Mental Capacity Forum.

Rachel said: “I am very honoured to receive this award. Alongside others, the focus of my work to embed the Mental Capacity Act in health and social care has been to ensure the rights of people who might lack mental capacity are protected, and that they receive the best possible care and treatment, within the empowering ethos of the MCA. I see this award as recognition of the importance of that work.”

Tags : CQCDavid BehanLeadersNew Year Honours

The author Lee Peart

Leave a Response